Men’s Soccer Omar Castruita Named Region IX Freshman of the Year

Men’s Soccer Omar Castruita Named Region IX Freshman of the Year

CHEYENNE – Omar Castruita (Boulder, Colorado) has been named 2019 Region IX Freshman of the Year by the region's head coaches. The Golden Eagles also had nine players selected for All-Region IX honors as the postseason honors were announced Wednesday, Nov. 13.

Castruita earned First Team All-Region IX honors along with Cameron Broadhurst (Broomfield, Colorado), Manny Tapia (Longmont, Colorado), Noe Ortiz-Pena (Aurora, Colorado), Declan Domyan (Johannesburg, South Africa) and Chayce Willett (Cheyenne, Wyoming).

Imourana Naite (New York City, New York) was selected to the Second Team All-Region IX team, while Carlos Vargas (Heber City, Utah) and Christian Corniel (Provo, Utah) earned Honorable Mention.

LCCC, 15-3-1 on the season, will play at the NJCAA National Tournament with the first game on Tuesday against #10 Cowley Community College.

Castruita is the second Golden Eagle to win the All-Region Freshman of the Year in the last three years. Broadhurst received the honor last season.

Castruita leads the Golden Eagles with 17 assists and seven goals this season. His 17 assists are third country. He had two games where he dished out three assists; once at home against Gillette College and Western Wyoming Community College.

Broadhurst, has 12 goals and three assists on the season. The sophomore scored a hat trick against Western Wyoming Community College at home and has scored 16 career goals and dished out seven assists in two years. Tapia is the Golden Eagles leading scorer with 15 goals on the year and has two assists.

Ortiz-Pena has 11 goals on the season for LCCC and dished out eight assists. Domyan, as a goalkeeper started 12 matches for the Golden Eagles and has six clean sheets on the year. Willett has helped anchored the backline for the Golden Eagles.

Naite, another centerback for the Golden Eagles has been part of a group that has eight clean sheets on the season. Vargas has 10 assists and five goals on the year. Corniel has started in all the matches this season for the Golden Eagles.

Head Coach Vince Gibson was named the Region IX Coach of the Year.


Below is the Complete List:

2019 All-Region IX Men's Soccer

First Team                                                         Second Team                                

Forwards:                                                                  Forwards:                                                     

LCCC- Manny Tapia (FR)                                         WNCC- Hector Salgado (SO)

OJC- Osusseynou Cisse (FR)                                     TSJC- Jahleel Cunningham (SO)

LCCC- Noe Ortiz-Pena (FR)                                      NJC- Paul Caliari (SO)

CCC- Jeremiah Vidale (FR)                                       NJC- Slayter Andolsek (FR)


Midfielders:                                                               Midfielders:                                                  

LCCC- Cameron Broadhurst (SO)                             TSJC- Guilherme Caldas (FR)          

LCCC- Omar Castruita (FR)                                      OJC- Chigozie Okorie (FR)               

NJC- Quentin Hornung (SO)                                      NC- Alejandro Fernandes (SO)         

OJC- Gianluca Mazza (FR)                                        WNCC- Bernardo Torres (SO)                                                                                                                                  

Defenders:                                                                 Defenders:                                                    

LCCC- Chayce Willett (SO)                                      LCCC- Imourana Naite (FR)             

TSJC- Arseno Hamilton (SO)                                    NC- Haruki Yamazaki (FR)

OJC- Tiago Cordeiro (FR)                                          SC- Marques Scott (SO)                    

WNCC- Vinicous Viana (SO)                                    OJC- Paul Nitch (FR)


Keeper:                                                                      Keeper:

LCCC- Declan Domyan (FR)                                     OJC- Steve Cline (FR)


Honorable Mention                               Additional Awards

Forwards:                                                                  Most Valuable Player

GC- Jordan Milby (SO)                                              NJC- Quentin Hornung (SO)

GC- Leno Degaetano (FR)                                        

NJC- Wissem Obeid (FR)

CCC- Luis Tovar (SO)


Midfielders:                                                               Freshman of the Year

WNCC- Omar Sissoko (SO)                                      LCCC- Omar Castruita (FR)

LCCC- Carlos Vargas (FR)                                       

SC- Tanner Smith (FR)

NJC- Scott P. Woods (FR)


Defenders:                                                                 Coach of the Year

NJC- Lukas Lougon (SO)                                           LCCC- Vince Gibson

GC- Isaack Shire (SO)

LCCC- Christian Corniel (FR)

NJC- Juan Macias (SO)



TSJC- Akim Larmond (SO)